fbpx

If there is anyone who can talk about juggling work and parenthood, it’s Natalie Moloney – not only is she mum to Lola (12), Rosie (10) and Maggie (7), who she shares with partner Nick, but she’s also the owner of At the Helm Career Services.

We spoke to Natalie about what it’s like to be a career practitioner, her journey with At the Helm and what she likes to do to wind down.

Tell us about your business or current role – where did the concept come from, and what’s your business background?

I launched ‘At the Helm Career Services’ in March 2021. I am a qualified Career Practitioner, and starting my private practice had been a dream of mine for a few years prior to doing so. I saw a need for specialised career support for women returning to the workforce, so this was the driving force for starting my business. I have designed targeted career support for this cohort. 

Running my own business also appealed to me so I could manage my time around my family, to allow better work / life balance. My working background prior to this had predominantly been in human resources before I transitioned to career development. Starting a small business has been a huge learning curve for me, but I have enjoyed the learning experience and personal development very much.

What time does a typical day start for you, and what does your morning look like?

I am up at 5.45am most mornings to get ready for the day, and get the kids off to school. My husband and I are a good team in the morning, making breakfasts and packing lunches for 3 kids and ourselves. My husband’s usually out the door by 7am for work, and there always seems to be a few challenges to navigate to get the kids out the door just before 8am to drop them to school!

If you have 10 minutes to yourself, where do you go and what do you like to do?

If I can fit it into my schedule, I try to fit in a half hour walk over Burleigh Headland after school drop off a couple of times a week before work. It’s longer than 10 minutes, but so important for my wellbeing.

If your kids are young, what do you do for childcare? If they’re older, do they do any extracurricular activities?

My kids have lots of extracurricular activities after school. We are off to sport training at least 4 out of 5 weekday afternoons. (swimming and nipper training). I have to juggle my work commitments around this. 

What do you do for fun as a family?

Lots of time at the beach. We are all water babies, and love the outdoors.

What is your favourite thing to do for date night, or to eat out with your kids?

My favourite thing to do for a date night is just a quiet local restaurant (Italian and Indian food are usually our go-to when we get a chance). If we take the kids out, a surf club or local sport clubs are the usual choices. 

Where do you head when you need a girls’ night out?

A nice restaurant is usually the popular choice. I must be getting old as noisy bars aren’t that appealing anymore!!

What’s your must-know fashion or beauty tip for mums?

This is definitely an area I am not qualified to comment on! I’m lucky to put makeup on more than once a week!

What’s your favourite place to shop?

My go-to has always been Sportsgirl. 

Must-have parenting tip or tool?

Patience and red wine.

haven

haven  

haven is all about family, life and style in Brisbane's inner city suburbs, the Gold Coast, south to Byron Bay. We have been keeping parents in the know for over eight years, with fun, fresh and helpful stories that they can take tips from or treasure in their own library.